Easy. Peasy. Yummy.

This past weekend, my MOH-extraordinaire, two lovely bridesmaids and my super-fabulously-awesome Mum threw me a Kitchen Tea party. It was all sorts of fun, and I’ll be sure to tell you more about that as soon as I get some of the photographs uploaded – but in the meantime, I thought I’d share a quick and super-easy gift idea with you.

You see, I knew I wanted to give my bridal posse a little somethin’ somethin’ for all of their efforts in planning the shower, but I was a slack bride-to-be and left my planning until the last minute. Of course, by the time the weekend rolled around, I was up to my ears in work and also suffering from a chesty cough o’doom. What’s a girl to do? Well, she’s to BAKE of course! I decided to whip something sweet up in the kitchen, package it up & write a nice card – a gift made with love, sweetness and a whole lot of sugar!

Mission for the day? Snickerdoodles.

One of my bridesmaids is vegan & my maid of honour is a hater of nuts .. so I needed something fairly simple that I could make with ingredients I already had. I used this recipe from Vegan Cookies (although I cut back on a little bit of the sugar (SUGAR! Yeah!) and only used 2.5 cups of flour) & they turned out, for this novice baker, pretty freaking delish.

I may or may not be blaming these babies for not fitting into my wedding dress in the next few months. Really, the smell of sugar & cinnamon combined is kind of lethal. They came out a gorgeous mixture of crunchy and chewy. Mmm.

Anywho, after prying the cookies out of Mr. Jaguar’s hands, I set about figuring out how to package them up. If I’d thought ahead, I would’ve gone and got cute little gift boxes for them, but unfortunately, I couldn’t find anything remotely suitable in our apartment. Instead, I made do: with plain old everyday freezer bags. I simple stacked the cookies in the bag, chopped off the excess bag at the top, and tied together with a ribbon in one of our wedding colours.

Sure, it’s not a fancy gift bag, but it did the trick – I added on a handmade card and made sure I left them a personalised ‘thank you, you’re awesome, I love you’ message & that was that.

Next time I bake pressies, I’ll definitely invest in some goodie bags for them, but these still turned out okay. They were cheap, chic & edible: and they went down a treat. (Ba-dum-ching.)

Did you give your girls a thank-you gift at your kitchen tea/bridal shower?

About missjaguar

I write for Weddingbee.com!
This entry was posted in Weddingbee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

